Album Reviews:
Click on a cover for the All Music Guide review

Large Jpeg

   

Large Jpeg

   
 

Xlarge Jpeg

Large Jpeg

Small
Jpeg

 
 

Large Jpeg

 

Large Jpeg

 

"If you thought that Twin Cities vocalist Connie Evingson had thoroughly mined the varied songbooks of American jazz with her wide-ranging eight recordings, think (and listen) again… Connie celebrates the release of Sweet Happy Life, saluting the works of lyricist Norman Gimbel"
Jazz Police     — Andrea Canter

"a fine singer,… (Evingson) brings her individuality and spark to fourteen of Frishberg's songs"
Rifftides, Arts Journal     — Doug Ramsey

"Frishberg's fresh, smart lyrics are well-delivered by the ultra-hip Evingson, who reveals through her immense talent the diamonds that are Frishberg's lyrics. "
All About Jazz     — C. Michael Bailey

Little Did I Dream — "Singer Connie Evingson brings a sunny disposition and unerring sense of swing to this upbeat tribute album, performing the Dave Frishberg songbook with the composer himself sitting in the piano chair. An air of breezy nonchalance and a touch of humor mark the set, as Connie & Co. blow through straight-up swing tunes, then settle gently into plush ballads. Frishberg’s wry lyrics and subtle melodies are a fine match for Evingson’s down-to-earth delivery, and the pair mesh beautifully in the disc’s more intimate moments."
FOJAZZ    — Forrest Dylan Bryant

Little Did I Dream — "Evingson's clear cool vocals paint these wonderful songs with new color that make them sound almost new."
KSUT

Little Did I Dream — "Minnesota is blessed with an abundance of really good jazz vocalists. In the front rank is the versatile and constantly surprising alto Connie Evingson…"
The Mississippi Rag, March 2008    — Will Shapira

Little Did I Dream — "…vocal treasure Connie Evingson turns to the smart, sophisticated, witty, and frisky songs of St. Paul native Dave Frishberg on her terrific eighth album, Little Did I Dream (Minnehaha Music). As has come to be expected from Evingson, she wraps herself in Frishberg's songs, using her sly, sinuous phrasing and wondrous tone to make them bloom, whether it's a wistful ballad like "Heart's Desire," a breezy trip to "Zanzibar," a swinging goof like "Can't Take You Nowhere," or the hipster-ish sizzle of "Peel Me a Grape."
City Pages, February 20, 2008     — Rick Mason

Stockholm Sweetnin' — "Connie Evingson is one of the most polished and versatile jazz vocalists on today's jazz scene, and Stockholm Sweetnin' further adds to her singing successes. My personal view is that this is her best work to date."
Modern Jazz Classics     — Bob Stockton

Gypsy In My Soul — "This is a thoroughly enjoyable CD by a singer with a sinuously attractive vocal sound and one that I unhesitatingly recommend to the Friends of Good Songs and also to those who have a hankering for this timeless musical style. "
Jazz Journal International     — Bruce Crowther, August 2005

"I like being musically surprised. Connie's albums are always surprisingly different and expectedly delightful."
    — Michael Bourne, "Singers Unlimited" (WBGO, Newark and wbgo.org)

"Her delivery is refreshingly straightforward and sexy. Her performances carry the aroma of red wine and filterless cigarettes, sensual, slightly decadent, and thoroughly wonderful."
All About Jazz     — C. Michael Bailey

"…the clear winner of 'CD Of The Month' for June is Connie Evingson's latest release, Gypsy In My Soul. Every time we play something from that CD, the phones ring and the number of e-mails coming into my computer increases."
    — Nick Morrison,Music Director, KPLU (NPR), Seattle

Gypsy In My Soul
"…delightful and well worth acquiring."
L.A. Jazz Scene (April '05)     — Scott Yanow

Gypsy In My Soul
"She interprets songs that carry a nostalgic memory, and she carves each one with a distinctive flair. Seamless phrasing, smoky resonance and a genuine caring give her presentation a natural quality."
All About Jazz     — Jim Santella

Gypsy In My Soul - Let It Be …Jazz
"Either one of these CDs will demonstrate to new listeners what jazz fans in Minnesota have long known - that Connie Evingson is a very accomplished jazz singer."
Swing 2 Bop     — Bruce Crowther

"Gypsy in My Soul resonates with a pulse of authenticity and reverberates with a glorious passion for this special, and too little heard music."
Edge Life    — Anthony J. W. Benson

"With her own delicious sense of swing, silken phrasing and sense of adventure, Evingson really nails Django's spirit on 'Gypsy', rummaging through his songbook (often with added lyrics) and other tunes that fit the mood, from Ellington's Caravan to Sting's Until…"
City Pages    — Rick Mason

"[The Secret of Christmas] …a holiday offering that is the finest I have heard this year."
All About Jazz     — C. Michael Bailey

Let it Be Jazz voted one of Top Ten CD's in 2004 by Jim Newsome, Port Folio Weekly.
"Finally, a jazz singer manages to record a collection of Beatles songs that places them on a par with the standards of the Great American Songbook. (Well, they're British, but you get the drift.) Port Folio editor Tom Robotham reviewed it, saying 'the first time I listened to it in its entirety, I experienced nothing short of an epiphany: Lennon and McCartney wrote songs that can swing. That Evingson recognized this---and was able to bring it out---is a testimony to her artistic sensitivity, musical technique and lovely vocal quality.' Amen! "
Port Folio Weekly by Jim Newsome

"The original Beatles arrangements are respectfully replaced… silky smooth voice." "A unique slant on …the Beatles' timeless music"
Record Collector     — Keith Badman

"Let It Be Jazz… a delightful jazz album with often unexpected results."
Jazz Journal International     — Bruce Crowther, January 2004

"Let It Be Jazz… a very listenable combination of novel ideas…"
Singer Magazine     — Robert A. Lindquist

"The arrangements… bristle with uncommon imagination."
Independent Online, Durham, NC     — Joe Vanderford

"Let it Be Jazz ably proves that Evingson is … deserving of widespread popularity."
JazzTimes Magazine     — Christopher Loudon

"…light and whimsical, translating the psychadelic humor of The Fab Four into jazz terms."
Will Friedwald author of Jazz Singing

"…among the finest Beatles interpretations by a jazz vocalist in recent years… Evingson's phrasing and style is perfect… she brings a sense of verve and adventure to songs each of us know so well."
JazzReview.com     — Lee Prosser

"An entertaining program… Evingson has approached familiar (as well as some less familiar) Beatles tunes with inventive musicality."
JAZZ SPOTLIGHT     — Don Heckman, Los Angeles Times - Aug. 24, 2003

"Evingson sings with confidence and intelligence … the band swings its collective ass off. A sure top ten pick for 2003!"
All About Jazz     — C. Michael Bailey

"An inspired, fascinating, fresh take on 13 Lennon/McCartney classics"
All About Jazz     — Dan McClenaghan

"Highly recommended. Evingson places each of these familiar melodies into a mainstream jazz context with a natural feel and a seamless transition."
All About Jazz     — Jim Santella

"Connie Evingson Sings The Beatles …Nice CD. Good singing. Great musicians."
JazzNow.com     — Lawrence Brazier

"…you are going to like this album, even if you are a jazz fan that (gasp!) does not like The Beatles. "
WomanRock.com     — Thomas Schulte

"Evingson is doing exactly the sort of thing jazz singers are supposed to do, i.e., put her own individualistic spin on something that is familiar… Let it Be Jazz not only demonstrates Evingson's skill as a jazz improviser; it also shows how durable the Fab Four's material continues to be 33 years after their breakup."
All Music Guide     — Alex Henderson

"Overall, Connie Evingson has a sensuous alto voice that is pleasant to listen to and difficult to forget…"
Sounds of Timeless Jazz

LET IT BE JAZZ - The Remarkable Album
Review from the Sept. '03 issue of "Swing Journal, the magazine for jazz devotees in Japan"

- THE SECRET OF CHRISTMAS -
Named one of the "12 Discs of Christmas" by JAZZIZ magazine (Dec. '03)

"THE SECRET OF CHRISTMAS… will put a smile on your face."
JazzReview.com     — Lee Prosser

"Minneapolis-based vocalist Connie Evingson has a way of turning potential musical yawns into highly original and vibrant jazz workouts… The set is - wisely - composed mostly of lesser-known classics of the genre, with Evingson in full command of her rich and melliflous vocal tone… With The Secret of Christmas Connie Evingson has pulled off the near impossible: she's recorded a musically interesting and highly listenable holiday disc."
All About Jazz     — Dan McClenaghan

"Scat singing, interpreting familiar lyrics, and inserting fresh, new ideas into her holiday program, Connie Evingson offers a personal gift for everyone… Classic music performed with an open heart and a creative mind makes a fine holiday companion… Every time of the year is right for this kind of genuine performance. Enjoy this one all year long"
All About Jazz     — Jim Santella

Two locals adapt music of the Beatles
Minneapolis Star-Tribune - April 25, 2003

Some Cats Know
Jazz Improv Magazine - Volume 3, #4

Dakota Christmas Jazz Party
Minneapolis Star-Tribune - December 11, 2001

Plymouth Music Series'
" Lady in the Dark"

Minneapolis Star-Tribune - October 15, 2001

Some Cats Know
Jazziz Magazine - July, 2001

Fever, A Tribute to Peggy Lee
Live Music - Minnesota Orchestra Magazine - June, 1999

Connie Evingson: Got The Fever
Mpls/St. Paul Magazine
- March, 1999

 
© 2003 Connie Evingson
connie@connieevingson.com